Hammonds House Museum



2019 Hammonds House Honors Nominees

Lifetime Achievement Award

Tina M. Dunkley, artist and former Director of Clark Atlanta University Art Galleries, is the recipient of the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award.

O.T. Hammonds Philanthropy in the Arts Award

Dr. O.T. Hammonds was a committed patron of the arts and artists. Vicki and John Palmer engage the same practice and have a demonstrable history of philanthropic giving and patronage to visual arts institutions, artists and independent projects. They are the 2019 recipients of the O.T. Hammonds Award for Philanthropy in the Arts.

Social Justice and Activism Award

Artist Fabian Williams is our 2019 Social Justice and Activism Award recipient. His Kaeperbowl Mural Campaign focused our collective gaze on Colin Kaepernick and his fight against racial injustice through multiple murals which were erected all over the city of Atlanta on the eve of the NFL’s biggest night.

Emerging Artist Award

The Emerging Artist Award is presented to an emerging talent who has achieved notable accomplishments while still early in their career. 
Nominees: Travis Love, Adrianna Clark, Zora Murff & Stacy Lynn Waddell.

Artistic Excellence Award

The Artistic Excellence Award is awarded to an individual artist whose creative and superior accomplishments in the arts have elevated Black visual arts, improved the cultural vitality of the form and has had a profound and lasting effect on the culture. Nominees: Jerushia Graham, Lonnie Holley, Sheila Pree Bright.

Curatorial Excellence Award

The Curatorial Excellence Award is awarded to a curator who animates public discourse, offers innovative approaches in the presentation of art, elevates public understanding and advances the field through their work.  This individual may be with an institution or independent. Nominees: Gia Hamilton, Faron Manuel,
Jamaal B. Sheats.  

Spriggs-Fuller Award for Arts Leadership

The Spriggs-Fuller Award for Arts Leadership recognizes individuals or organizations who enhance and strengthen the cultural community by curating, producing, exhibiting and advocating for artistic excellence in black visual art. Nominees: Mary Schmidt-Campbell, Jontyle Theresa Robinson Ph.D., Franklin Sirmans.

The Creators Award

The Creators Award is awarded to artists who create at the intersection of pop culture and the remix. They create or present visual imagery through non-traditional avenues, are commercially viable and introduce new generations to black visual culture. Nominees: Toni Williams, Chilly-O, Dubelyoo Wright, Melissa Mitchell and Miya Bailey.